The Five Stans – Yampu Tours

Custom Travel Experiences Since 1998

Book with Confidence with our new booking terms and conditions. Learn More

The Five Stans

The 5-Stans

Stretching east from the Caspian Sea to Mongolia and extending from Iran to Russia, Central Asia is made up of former Soviet Republics known as the Five-Stans; Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan and Tajikistan. Each country offers a unique perspective of the region with varying landscapes from vast mountain ranges to seemingly never-ending grasslands and deserts. Lined with deep history as part of the ancient silk road, visitors can soak in the culture through its welcoming locals, historic architecture, and unique culinary flavors.


Be in the know before you go

A valid passport is required to travel to Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, or Uzbekistan and should have at least 6 months’ validity after your return home. You should have at least 2 blank pages per country that you are visiting. If your passport does not meet this requirement at the time of departure, you can be denied boarding for your international flight and may consequently incur additional expenses. Each country has its own list of rules, restrictions, and cultural differences that should be noted. Please ask your Yampu Tour Consultant for detailed information.